One concern people have about WhatsApp is the privacy of their status updates. In that order, here we will see the ways to hide your WhatsApp status and that of other people.
When someone visits your WhatsApp Status tab and sees your updates, you can usually know. If you are concerned about your privacy, you should change the privacy of your status.
Who can see your status?
Your WhatsApp status are visible to your contacts and the people who have you on their agenda. This means that a number that you do not have registered cannot see your updates.
The problem is that some of your WhatsApp contacts could see your status in a hidden way, without being seen. To avoid this, you should change the privacy and hide your WhatsApp status from unwanted people.
How to hide your WhatsApp status?
If you don’t want everyone to see your WhatsApp status, this is how you can hide it from different people:
1. Open WhatsApp, tap the three vertical lines in the upper right corner, and choose Settings.
2. Then go to Account, Privacy and tap on Status.
3. Here are 3 privacy options you can choose for your status:
- My contacts: so that all the people you have added can see it.
- My contacts, except…: ideal if you want to prevent some contacts from seeing your status.
- Only share with…: to make your status visible only to one person or a few contacts on your WhatsApp.
4. Choose the option that fits you to be able to hide your status from people you don’t want see it.
This is how you can change the privacy of your status, giving you more control over who can see what you share on WhatsApp. In the next section, let’s see how to mute someone else status on WhatsApp.
Mute someone WhatsApp status
If you don’t want to see someane WhatsApp status, you can block or mute it on from your device.
1. Open WhatsApp on your cell phone and go to the Status tab.
2. Locate the status of someone you want to stop seeing and make a continuous push on the contact.
3. In the message that appears, click on the Mute option.
From that moment you will stop seeing the status of that person, without blocking the contact itself. You will no longer have to deal with all the updates from that person.